THOUGHTS OF DYLAN THOMAS

I have been a fan of the work of Welsh bard Dylan Thomas, ever since I studied Under Milk Wood for my A’level English exam.

In September this year, I was on a socially-distanced holiday with my husband in a remote log cabin in Wales. It was not far from Laugharne, where Thomas lived for a lot of his short life. On one of the days of our holiday, we visited the bard’s famous writing shed. His jacket hangs over his wooden chair at his desk. His writing paraphernalia is still there. It’s all been left as if he has just popped out for a drink or two at Brown’s Hotel.

The shed is in a beautiful position looking over the estuary. The boathouse, where he lived with his family, is situated further along the same path. This was our second visit to Laugharne and this time we went in search of Dylan Thomas’s grave at the nearby church. We imagined a grand affair. Instead we found a simple, white, wooden cross where he is buried with his wife Caitlin.

Since the holiday, I have re-read Under Milk Wood. I still think it is a masterpiece. I remember once hearing a recording, which totally brought the work to life. I am now reading The Dylan Thomas Omnibus, which contains poems, short stories, and UMW. The language is very inspiring. While some of Thomas’s life choices I find uncomfortable, I am still a fan of his genius.

Standing outside Dylan Thomas’s writing shed

Leave a comment