ONE HUNDRED DAYS OF LOCKDOWN

I heard on the BBC News this morning that today marked one hundred days of lockdown in the UK. It got me thinking: what have I done during those one hundred days?

In some ways not a lot, I replied to myself. It’s been a very strange time.

At first I was busy as a result of losing my mum. There was a funeral to arrange, many people to inform, paperwork to sort, and a flat to clear of furniture and personal items built up over ninety-three years of life. It was emotional. These tasks were made even more difficult because of lockdown, but it gave me a purpose.

I also needed time to grieve, so lockdown gave me that opportunity when I didn’t have to see people and try to act as normal. That was something positive to take from the enforced time away from everday life. Another positive has been spending a lot of time with my husband and not falling out. We celebrated our thirtieth wedding anniversary at home with a cake specially made for us and a meal from M&S. We had planned to go away, but Covid-19 had changed our plans. Together we’ve enjoyed some beautiful walks in our neighbourhood and, our garden hasn’t looked better, since we’ve been giving it more attention than in other years.

We’ve enjoyed a select few socially distanced meet-ups with a couple of family members and a few friends. Those moments have been precious. Oh, and I’ve baked some cakes.

And what about your writing? I hear you ask. Um, not so good. I have managed about five thousand words on my current (adult) novel project, and a couple of short stories, so there hasn’t been much output but now I do feel I am getting back into the right frame of mind. It doesn’t take much to put me off, though.

What have you been doing in the #100daysoflockdown ?

2 thoughts on “ONE HUNDRED DAYS OF LOCKDOWN

  1. mapike2013 says:

    You actually have done a lot Carol! I’m not surprised writing has not been prolific. I have done very little and have not had an experience like losing my mum.
    I have however finally sorted through all the boxes that remained from my parents’s house. Finished the last one today and found some photos of my grandparents from the First World War. Very emotional xx

    Like

  2. carol1875 says:

    Thank you, Maryanne. It’s very moving looking at old family images. Reminders of happy times, and not such happy times like wars, can both bring on the tears. I still have four boxes of photos to sort but I’m doing them gradually. X

    Like

Leave a comment